top of page

The Major Arcana Cards

The Major Arcana cards are one of the two groups of cards in a tarot deck, with the other being the Minor Arcana. There are 22 Major Arcana cards in a standard tarot deck, numbered from 0 to 21. Each of these cards depicts a specific image and has its own meaning and interpretation.

Major Arcana Meanings

The Major Arcana cards represent archetypal energies and major life events. They are used to gain insight into the deeper, spiritual aspects of life and to explore the bigger picture. They can be used for personal growth, self-awareness, and spiritual development.

The Major Arcana cards can be used in a tarot reading to give a more profound understanding of a situation or issue.

The High Priestess card is one of the 22 Major Arcana cards in a tarot deck, and it represents intuition, inner wisdom, and mystery. The card usually depicts a female figure sitting between two pillars, holding a scroll or book and wearing a veil that covers her hair.  The High Priestess card often appears in a tarot reading as a symbol of the hidden, mysterious, and intuitive aspects of life. It suggests that there may be hidden knowledge or secrets that need to be revealed and that you may need to rely on your intuition and inner wisdom to uncover the truth.  The High Priestess card can also represent the need to trust your instincts and listen to your intuition. It may be a sign that you need to take a step back and be more reflective before making a decision or taking action. The card can also indicate that the answers you seek are within you, and you just need to take the time to tap into your inner wisdom to find them.  Overall, the High Priestess card serves as a reminder to value and trust your intuition and inner wisdom, and to keep an open mind to the mysteries of life.

For example, the High Priestess card represents intuition and inner knowledge, while the Tower card represents sudden change and upheaval.

By evaluating which cards appear in a reading and interpreting their meanings, you can gain valuable insights and guidance to help you make decisions and navigate through life's challenges.

Overall, the Major Arcana cards are a powerful tool for self-reflection and spiritual exploration, and they can offer deep wisdom and insight into life's most important questions.

The Rider Tarot The Magician


The specific meanings and symbolism of the Major Arcana in the Rider-Waite Tarot deck:

0. The Fool: Represents new beginnings, innocence, and spontaneity. Symbolizes taking a leap of faith, having no expectations, and being open to new experiences.

1. The Magician: Symbolizes power, self-confidence, and creativity. This represents utilizing one's skills and resources to manifest one's desires.

2. The High Priestess: Represents intuition, inner knowing, and the unconscious mind. Symbolizes the importance of looking within to gain knowledge, understanding, and wisdom.

3. The Empress: Symbolizes fertility, creativity, and nurturing. Represents abundance, harmony, and the beauty of nature.

4. The Emperor: Represents authority, structure, and the rational mind. Symbolizes the importance of organization, leadership, and responsibility.

5. The Hierophant: Symbolizes tradition, conformity, and religion. This represents seeking guidance from a teacher, mentor, or spiritual leader.

6. The Lovers: Symbolizes love, relationships, and choices. Represents the importance of making decisions from a place of love and authenticity.

7. The Chariot: Represents perseverance, willpower, and determination. Symbolizes staying focused on one's goals and overcoming obstacles.

8. Strength: Symbolizes inner strength, courage, and self-control. This represents the importance of controlling one's emotions and using one's strength for positive outcomes.

9. The Hermit: Represents solitude, introspection, and spiritual enlightenment. Symbolizes the importance of disconnecting from the world to gain insight and understanding.

10. The Wheel of Fortune: Symbolizes cycles of life, fate, and karma. Represents the ups and downs of life and the constant changes that occur.

11. Justice: Symbolizes balance, fairness, and law and order. Represents the importance of making decisions based on impartiality and fairness.

12. The Hanged Man: Symbolizes surrender, letting go, and sacrifice. Represents the importance of sacrificing or releasing something to gain a new perspective.

The High Priestess card serves as a reminder to value and trust your intuition and inner wisdom, and to keep an open mind to the mysteries of life.

13. Death: Represents transformation, endings, and rebirth. Symbolizes the importance of letting go of the old to bring in the new.

14. Temperance: Represents harmony, balance, and moderation. Symbolizes the importance of finding balance and avoiding extremes.

15. The Devil: Symbolizes temptation, materialism, and addiction. Represents the importance of letting go of negative patterns and freeing oneself from self-imposed limitations.

16. The Tower: Represents upheaval, chaos, and transformation. Symbolizes the need to break down outdated structures and beliefs to make way for new beginnings.

17. The Star: Represents hope, inspiration, and healing. Symbolizes the importance of having faith in oneself and in a higher power.

18. The Moon: Symbolizes illusions, intuition, and the subconscious mind. Represents the importance of facing one's fears and trusting one's inner guidance.

19. The Sun: Represents vitality, energy, and success. Symbolizes the importance of living in the present moment and embracing joy and happiness.

20. Judgement: Symbolizes self-evaluation, rebirth, and awakening. Represents the importance of learning from past experiences and making positive changes.

21. The World: Symbolizes completion, integration, and fulfillment. Represents the attainment of a goal or accomplishment and the recognition of one's place in the world.


The Major Arcana cards in reverse

Can have a different meaning than when they appear upright in a tarot reading. Here are some general interpretations of the reversed Major Arcana cards:

0. The Fool: Recklessness, impulsiveness, naivety, overconfidence.

1. The Magician: Tricks, manipulation, misuse of power, lack of confidence.

2. The High Priestess: Blocked intuition, lack of insight, secrets, concealment.

3. The Empress: Emotional instability, neglect, dependency, lack of nurturing.

4. The Emperor: Tyranny, rigidity, control, lack of authority.

5. The Hierophant: Conformity, dogma, rebellion, individualism.

6. The Lovers: Disharmony, conflict, separation, unrequited love.

7. The Chariot: Lack of control, indecision, setbacks, failure.

8. Strength: Weakness, insecurity, abuse, lack of courage.

9. The Hermit: Isolation, loneliness, avoidance, withdrawal.

10. The Wheel of Fortune: Stagnation, resistance to change, bad luck.

11. Justice: Injustice, lack of balance, dishonesty, legal issues.

12. The Hanged Man: Stuck, sacrifice, martyrdom, self-sabotage.

13. Death: Resistance to change, stagnation, fear, unwillingness to let go.

14. Temperance: Imbalance, extremes, addiction, lack of self-control.

15. The Devil: Bondage, addiction, shadow self, powerlessness.

16. The Tower: Crisis, upheaval, chaos, loss.

17. The Star: Disillusionment, lack of hope, despair, insecurity.

18. The Moon: Fear, anxiety, illusion, confusion.

19. The Sun: Overbearing brightness, narcissism, hubris, false optimism.

20. Judgment: Denial, procrastination, self-blame, lack of introspection.

21. The World: Blocked completion, stagnation, lack of fulfillment, lack of variety.

Note that these are just general interpretations and the meaning of the reversed Major Arcana card can vary depending on the context of the reading and the individual interpretation of the tarot reader.


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page